Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join Giving Institute
The Giving Institute Committees

Members are encouraged to participate on a committee of The Giving Institute. If you are interested in joining a committee, please email

Below is a list of The Giving Institute committees and their members: 

Executive Committee

Rachel Hutchisson  Chair
Ted Grossnickle, CFRE 1st Vice Chair
Peter J. Fissinger, CFRE – 2nd Chair
Laura MacDonald, CFRE – Treasurer
Cedric A. Richner, CFRE Secretary
Jeffrey D. Byrne Immediate Past Chair
Jon Biedermann At Large Member
Jennifer Richard  At Large Member

Marketing Committee

Provides strategy recommendations for the development and streamlining of Giving Institute and Giving USA Foundation marketing and communication initiatives.

Rick Dunham– Co-Chair
Lorry DiCecco – Co-Chair
Todd Levy – Vice-Chair
Rachel Hutchisson
Greg Gorman

Membership Committee

Oversees recruitment efforts for member acquisition and assist with the logistical steps of the membership application process.

Derek Alley – Co-Chair
Ryan Woroniecki – Co-Chair
Steven Birnbaum
Brenda B. Asare
Jeffrey D. Byrne
Marc Kellenberger
William McMorran
George C. Ruotolo, Jr., CFRE
Aly Sterling
Bill Tedesco
Smita Vadakekalam

Program and Education Committee

Plans the educational offerings for in-person meetings and online webinars throughout the year, including the identification of speakers and content.

Paul Koreen – Co-Chair
Richard Tollefson – Co-Chair
Cedric Richner – Vice-Chair
Brenda B. Asare
Jon Biedermann
Michelle D. Cramer, CFRE
Richard J. Dunham
Ted Grossnickle
Rachel Hutchisson
Laura MacDonald
Poonam Prasad
Dein Rein
Dawn Robinson
Marnie Spears
Ben Golding

Public Policy

Shares pertinent public policy news and updates with membership and assist with developing responses to position statements and policy issues on behalf of the organization.

Sally Ehrenfried – Co-Chair
Erin Shy – Co-Chair 
Poonam Prasad – Vice-Chair

Strategic Plan Committee

Assists with the development of the organization’s strategic plan and its deliverables as it relates to the mission, vision, and values for the future.

Ted Grossnickle – Co-Chair
Rachel Hutchisson – Co-Chair
Jeffrey D. Byrne
L. Gregg Carlson
Richard J. Dunham
Peter J. Fissinger, CFRE
Laura MacDonald, CFRE
Aggie Sweeney, CFRE

Summer Symposium Committee

Oversees, plans, and executes logistical components of the annual Summer Symposium conference.

Cedric Richner – Co-Chair
Laura MacDonald – Co-Chair
Kristin Jamieson
Ryan Woroniecki
William McMorran
Bob Evans
Sarah Williams
Jon Biedermann
Avrun Lapin
Page Bullington
Sharon Tiknis
Paul Koreen
Richard Tollefson
Helen Starman
Dan Jenuwine
225 W. Wacker Drive | Chicago, IL | 60606