Giving USA Committees

Members are encouraged to participate on a committee of the Giving USA Foundation. If you are interested in joining a committee, please email

Below is a list of the Giving USA Foundation committees and their members: 

Executive Committee

Richard J. Dunham – Chair
Laura MacDonald, CFRE– Vice Chair
Joshua M. Birkholz – Secretary/Treasurer
Keith Curtis  – Immediate Past Chair

Advisory Council on Methodology

Provides critical evaluation of the methodologies used within the Giving USA: The Annual Report on Philanthropy by offering feedback, suggestions, and insights.

For Giving USA Foundation™
Joshua M. Birkholz, Chair
Erin Berggren, CAE
Carrie Cobb
W. Keith Curtis
Carrie Dahlquist
Richard J. Dunham
Rachel Hutchisson
Alan R. Hutson, Jr., CFRE
Creighton Lang
Laura MacDonald, CFRE
Wendy S. McGrady
Alex Oftelie
Nancy L. Raybin
Sarah Williams

For the Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy
Amir Pasic, PhD
Patrick M. Rooney, PhD
Una O. Osili, PhD
Anna Pruitt, PhD
Jon Bergdoll, MS
Rebecca TeKolste, MA
David P. King, PhD
Kirsten A. Grønbjerg, PhD

Rev. Dr. Richard S. Belous
Randy Cohen
Nathan Dietz
Jeff Elder
Cindy M. Lott, Esq.
Alexander Parkinson
Ann E. Kaplan
Jon Durnford
David Wolcheck
Allison Grayson
James Cheng
Heather Campbell
Jennifer Holt
Jesse D. Lecy
Russell N. James III, JD, PhD
Regine Webster

Editorial Review Board

Serves as oversight to the editor and authors of the Giving USA: The Annual Report on Philanthropy with respect to the content, tone, and style, including special attention to the practical implications of the research.

Laura MacDonald, CFRE, Co-Chair
Wendy S. McGrady, Co-Chair
Sarah K. Anderson
June Bradham
Jessica Browning, MA, MBA
Melinda Church
Richard J. Dunham
Nina Giviyan-Kermani
Kate Harris
Kim Horton
Patricia House
Kathy L. Howrigan
Elaine Jansen
Tom Kissane
Drew McCartt
William C. McMorran
Nicole McWhorter
Merrill Milano
Lisa Pelofsky
Anna Pruitt
Nathan Relles
Erik Rogers
Sarah Sebastian
Tessa Skidmore
Lauren Steiner
Ashley Thompson
Angela E. White, CFRE
Lisa Wolf

Finance Committee

Monitors the organizations financial health by regularly reviewing financial statements, developing financial policies/maintaining the implementation of current policies and ensuring the transparency of the organization’s financial health with membership.

Joshua M. Birkholz – Chair
Aggie Sweeney
Richard J. Dunham
Keith Curtis 

Nonprofit Research Collaborative

W. Keith Curtis
Nancy Raybin
Jim Yunker

Resource Development Committee

Leads the solicitation efforts and procurement of funds to achieve Annual Campaign goals for the Foundation to support operating costs that sustain the production of the report and fund new research methodologies.

Christopher Looney, Chair
Jeffrey Byrne
L. Gregg Carlson
W. Keith Curtis
Ted Grossnickle
Suzanne Hilser-Wiles
Marc Kellenberger
Thomas Mesaros
Dave Smith
Bill Tedesco
225 W. Wacker Drive | Chicago, IL | 60606